Skip to content

Coming back from London and Food Bloggers Connect, part I

August 21, 2011

I’m just excited.

With everything.

With the conference, with the city, with the journey.

Group foto!

The 3rd European Conference Food Bloggers Connect 12-14/8 in London was very well organized, covering a wide range of subjects and giving us food for thought! The speakers were all distinguished ones and willing to share with us their experience and knowledge.

Just like Jaden Hair from Steamy Kitchen did, who was also the keynote speaker, and shared with us all through the 3 days her amazing experience and so useful tips and advices that answered to a lot of our questions. In fact, she pointed out what it takes to distinguish in food blogging: be unique and good to what you are doing and of course, practice, practice, practice! Well, exactly what anyone needs in any field to be the best. Be yourself, focus on what you are doing and work a lot.

There was also a Food Photography & Styling Workshop with Beatrice Peltre from Tartine Gourmande which unfortunately didn’t attend because there were left no vacancies. But I did attend the very interesting speech about the basic elements of food photography by Jemma Watts who really liked! Hello Jemma!

Dear Jemma!

Video blogging was analysed by the brazilian, vivid and humorous Nando Cuca from Cuca Brazuca, shooting the Indian british chef Anjum Anand while cooking a delicious salad with chickpeas, zucchini, coliander, spices and feta cheese! I tried to shoot a video too and I’ll try for the first time to edit it. If it will be ok, I’ll show it to you!

Hello, you big brazilian man!

Anjum indie cooking

indie chickpeas salad!

There was left no chickpea!

Every speaker had important things to offer except for the skype speakers who unfortunately hadn’t the chance to express themselves due to technical problems –no connection at the basement!

The sponsors added their touch too with useful information.

Olives from spain

Olives from spain offered us tasty olives all through the conference and I was lucky-unlucky with this company: lucky to be drawn and win a cooking masterclass at September and unlucky because I have to be in Greece next month and cannot attend! And just at the time I was sad and didn’t know what to do, there she was Karin from yum and more! “Why don’t you give it to someone else? Snejana let’s say!” And there was enlightment!

1st, I realized I had won

2nd, I realized I had lost and

3rd, I realized that it was finally a win-win situation because, yes, a person who would love it as much as I would, could take it!! Yeah, and there she was, Snejana from Orange Thyme that was offered the masterclass! Thank you olives from spain, thank you Karin, thank you Snejana!

Snejana and me

Snejand and Karin: blah, blah, blah, blah...

Hello, Snejana!

You crazy, Karin!

And here it is another funny –and strange- thing: I was sitting next to the French Zoeh from Gourmande Abroad to one of the sessions while she was making these cute business cards of hers with these tiny bottles with peppers. I liked this image very much and I shot it. Looking the photos of the day back at my room hotel at night, I look closely to that one and see written down at her notes: “Athina from Greece, www.sugarbuzz.gr”! Well, that may say nothing to you, but to me meant that another greek food blogger had come that day to the conference and had talked to the person next to me –Athina, a blogger that I follow but never had the chance to meet her in Greece! Well, that was it! We arranged to meet in Athens in a few days!

"Athina from Greece"-where is she???

Back to the rest of the sponsors –cuisinart, cooklet, great wines from Libanon, goat French cheese- they all had useful thing to share with us.

And there it was Leila from Leila brandao! Her tiny, works of art desserts are delicious and with a great variety of the famous brazilian truffles brigadeiros. I was really glad to give her one of my props –that had brought from Greece in order to exchange them at the last day of the conference- a small white-blue cup with its plate from the huge dinnerware set of my grandmother. I’m looking forward to seeing it in one of her pictures!

Leila's petits delices

I offered the second prop, a small coffee pot where the traditional greek coffee is made, to Helen from Fuss Free Flavours and in exchange I got a very nice blue-white towel and a linen with a nice embroidery! I also got from italian Emiko -great photos Emiko!- from emiko davies a very nice wooden fork and knife, a scented salt from Zoeh and some white-red napkins as they were leftovers! Yuppiii!

My given props!

Salt from France

The goodies bag that every attendant took was also a treasure for me: electric pepper and herb mill by cusinart, scented salts, spices, pasta, olives, musli, a spatula, almonds, honey, cocoa beans, the Woman & home magazine and many informative leaflets about various products. And these were one of the main reason for reaching the limit of my luggage weight at the airport, but hopefully, didn’t exceed it!

The goodie bag!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But the most important thing to me, those three days of the conference is this: a had the chance to meet all these wonderful people from all around the world, people that love doing the same thing with me.

Bethany, from dirty kitchen secrets, the soul of the conference who managed to organize one more year such a demanding event and be successful. Congratulations to the rest of the team as well, Sarka with the great shots from cooking your dream -thanks for the group foto too!-, Sarah from Maison Cupcake and the already mentioned Nando Cuca.

Hello Bethany!

Also, except from the already mentioned, I was glad to meet Kira from Kazakhstan and cook4style –she’s the only one in her country dealing with food blogging!

Zita from Hungary and zizi adventures -thanks for the nice photo of Snejana and me!,

The American, leaving in Russia for many years, Jennifer from dividing my time

The talented in pastry young Emma from poires au chocolat,

The Tuskan girl Giulia from juls kitchen, with the lovely cookbook of hers with recipes from her grandmother,

and last but not least, Mostly about chocolate, baking blue finger, ren behan, culinaria libris, bexcooks, caitlingu and I hope I’m not forgetting anyone!

Kira from Kazakhstan

As a conclusion, the people I met, what I heard, saw and felt at these three happy days of the conference, filled my mind and my soul with emotions, pictures, smells and joy. The only thing I wish is to be healthy and able to meet all these and many more people next year too. People who share the same love for food, for the nice things in life, for the life itself.

To be continued…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

P.S. There will be a part II too, but it will be mostly about my impressions for London as I’ve visited it for the first time!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2011 9:04 pm

    What a nice photo reportage, Artemis! And thank you so much for offering me to go instead of you to this masterclass, I promise to take photos and write a post of everything after that!
    I loved the firefly juices! How come I never saw them before… a mystery.
    Oh we’ve had great time! 🙂

    • August 21, 2011 9:15 pm

      @Sneige (is that your nickname?),
      thank you!! Well, these juices had nice bottles too. I hope we’ll meet next year too!! 🙂

  2. August 21, 2011 9:16 pm

    Wonderful post, Artemis! And I’m still enjoying the lovely herbs you brought to the conference! so good!

    • August 21, 2011 9:21 pm

      @Jennifer,
      Thank you! Add this oregano ground to your next burger or to a nice, red tomato with some extra virgin olive oil!

  3. Argyro Psaroudaki permalink
    August 21, 2011 9:31 pm

    I absolutely loved it!!!! Felt like I was with you at the conferrence. Really nice work my friend :))))

  4. August 21, 2011 10:12 pm

    dear dear Artemis, wonderful thoughts and summary and very fun pictures (send pls.).
    isn’t that amazing w the other girl from greece! c u soon in athens….

    • August 21, 2011 10:31 pm

      @Karin,
      I’m sending them to you right now!
      Yes, it is, I’m gonna meet her tomorrow morning for a nice cold coffee!
      Let me know if you are going to come. I’d love to show you around!

  5. August 22, 2011 1:21 am

    A lovely post to re-live a fun weekend! So pleased to meet you!

  6. August 22, 2011 11:10 am

    Great article & photos, Artemis. Congratulations! I need to write mine soon!

  7. August 22, 2011 4:02 pm

    It was so nice to meet you and thank your very much for the cup and sweet words about my chocolates. Hope to see you soon.

  8. August 22, 2011 5:07 pm

    Nice pics and great herbs 🙂 Original and very useful ‘businesscard’ 🙂

    Cheers!

  9. August 22, 2011 8:37 pm

    thank u…lovely))))

  10. August 22, 2011 11:19 pm

    borrowed a few of your pictures)))) hope u dont mind)))
    http://www.cook4style.kz/ru/news/item/284/

    • August 23, 2011 1:17 am

      @Kira,
      there is no problem!
      Just credit me (refer to where you have taken the pictures from!!)
      I’m glad you liked my post!

  11. August 23, 2011 2:29 am

    Helpful blog post and thank you for sharing. A couple of things in here I have not thought about before, I would like to use this moment to say that I really love this blog. It has been a fantastic resource of information for me. Thank you so much!

  12. August 24, 2011 5:37 pm

    What a very sweet post. It was truly lovely to meet you and to have had you come all the way from Greece with goodies! Very kind. xxx

  13. August 26, 2011 2:48 pm

    What a lovely post! It was great to meet you too. Thank you so much for your kind comment and link 🙂

Leave a Reply

