Skip to content

New York, New York; a non stop eating and drinking city.

August 31, 2012

New York, a legendary city and a trip of a life time for a lot of people all over the world, yes, it has been for me too/ there are just a few chances in our lives for long distance trips/ I took that chance and made that journey/ didn’t think about it when I was asked to go, I just did it, no time for thinking the proper time, money, or anything, just do it/ life is too short, life is too long/ grab it and move on/ move on to New York, the alive city, full of vibrations, the bright one, the huge one, the kitsch one, the noisy one, the clean and the dirty one, the rich, the poor, the amazing, the impressive/ eat its food/ food and drinks everywhere, any time, everything/ au bon pain, the all day cafe and bakery that we visited every morning (late morning) for breakfast-brunch, new york classic chicken sandwich, danish cheese sweet rolls, cupcakes, broccoli cheddar and turkey chilli soups, jalapenos begels with two boiled eggs/street canteens everywhere, offering a wide range of food and drinks, lamb-chicken over rice, belgian waffles with ice cream, big and small cupcakes with frosting of your choice, vegetable and fruit juices, smoothies, frozen yoghurt, ice creams, mexican food, caramel peanuts (caramelised on spot!), cheese goodies/ oh, my god, I wanted them all!/ the seafood, the lobster sandwich, the crabs at Long Island and at Freeport/ the wonderful, sweet White Chocolate Martini at Schiller’s/ thanks Jenny for letting me know about it and for crumbs too with the yummy cupcakes, see you in Athens!/ cold sodas with lemon by the lake at Central Park/ beers with honey and orange/ great grilled chicken with garlic at a tiny restaurant from Peru with fried plantains (“relatives of the bananas) and potato-spinach puree/ and to remember summer greek food I baked a few “gemista” (vegetables stuffed with rice and herbs) to the tiny kitchen of the new york apartment/ the supermarkets were small and huge paradises to me, security men were about to throw me out the way I looked at the variety of every singe product and the hours it took me to decide which rice to peak for the gemista!/ incredible stores with homeware and props, I wanted them all/ I found the wonderful book of  Béatrice Peltre, La Tartine Gourmande: Recipes for an Inspired Life at Strand while I was suppressed not to spend all my dollars to those great food editions/ saying that, I must turned a few years older when the airplane at our way home dropped at a big gap and Bea’s book flew in the air for a few seconds, I’ll surely remember the Jerusalem artichokes soup recipe for a long time!/ but then the Turkish airlines menu came to comfort us, stuffed aubergines with meat, tabouleh salad and baked rice pudding, and to my surprise, they were great -usually airplanes’ food isn’t the best thing to eat/ and now here I am thinking “alright folks, now, what’s next?”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2012 1:25 pm

    Wonderful! You did it all and described it perfectly! New York is like a carousel that you hop on and off of day and night. Very exciting but sometime too much choice is just too much.
    Glad for you that you went for!
    Loved the food slideshow!
    xox Karin

    • August 31, 2012 2:20 pm

      @Karin, you’re right! But that’s why it’s a charming city. Glad you liked the slideshow!

Leave a Reply

