Skip to content

The black soda carob bread with the seeds.

February 20, 2014

carob bread_seeds 1

I’ve seen that soda bread so long time ago and just had it on my mind.

No knead, no yeast, no rising time, quick and, here it is your bread.

carob bread_seeds 2

I adapted the original recipe to the ingredients I had in my pantry and these were a lonely package of carob flour and some seeds -flax, sunflower and sesame.

I put all these together, I added the necessary baking soda and voila!

A tasty, black, chocolate like bread but without the sweetness of it -just the unique flavour of carob flour.

Enjoy.

Psomi_haroupalevro Collage

carob bread_seeds 3

Adapted recipe by Emmanouel’s Hatziandreou book “Delicious bread”

Ingredients for one small loaf:

  • 1 1/2 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of carob flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup+1 tbsp full fat milk or buttermilk
  • 1 tbsp flax seeds
  • 2 tbsp sunflower seeds and sesame mix

(Tip: if you don’t have or don’t want to use these seeds use any other you like or may have or even skip them. Also, this bread is made with other flours too: whole meal flour, strong flour or you can try with a combination of flours you like the most)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven at 200 C/392F
  2. In a big bowl add the flours, salt, baking soda and the seeds. Mix them with a spoon.
  3. Add the milk or buttermilk and mix well until you get a quite sticky dough.
  4. Sprinkle enough flour over a surface and put the dough on. Roll it over and knead just a sec to get a non sticky ball.
  5. Make a cross over its surface with a knife and put it in a baking pan covered with parchment paper or with olive oil.
  6. Bake for about 30′ or until you get a clean knife blade if you stick it deep into the bread. Also, another “trick” is to knock on the bottom of the bread and if the sound is hollow then the bread is ready.
  7. Put it on a rack to let it cold -if you can handle it…
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Crossed Like Hell permalink
    September 30, 2018 6:12 pm

    Two cups of flours and two cups of liquids? Are you joking? Even though, I’ve tried it? What did I get? Something similar to a slurry…! Not even doubling the flours I got a decent dough! And what is the extra milk spoon for?
    Why do people pay so so so little attention to what they post, making others just lose their time and ingredients? Why?

    • October 5, 2018 1:05 pm

      I’m so sorry for your time and ingredients. I have no purpose at all bringing ppl in such a condition as yours. A typo mistake unfortunately can do that -I’ve already corrected my one cup liquid instead of 2- and to prove my good intention, I had written down the correct amount in my greek blog in the first place. Didn’t mean to make all this fuss. Sorry again.

Leave a comment