Skip to content

Pickled boiled eggs –the ouzo meze!

April 27, 2011

That’s what I did with the red Easter eggs!

Very promising, the eggs are swimming slowly into their cold bath of vinegar –balsamic and cider one- olive oil, garlic, spices and herbs.

And when the time comes, that is a week from now, I will fish them one by one, I will serve myself a nice glass of ouzo with lots of ice cubes, I will open my balcony chair and I will lay myself under the nice, warm greek sun.

And now that I woke up, I’ll give you the recipe!

These pickled eggs are preserved for 2 months in the fridge.

The greek magazine cookbook, suggests that we heat the egg with a drop of olive oil and salt and pepper in a pan before eating.

INGREDIENTS

  • 10 boiled eggs
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 small twigs of rosemary –if you have fresh- or 1 tsp of dried one
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • Peppercorns –as many as you like
  • Coriander grains –as many as you like
  • White vinegar –I used cider

DIRECTIONS

1.      Boil the eggs good and let them cold.

2.      In a big jar that fits them all, put them in and add all the other ingredients. Fill in with the white vinegar, until everything is completely covered. Put the lid on and turn the jar upside down one or two times to mix the ingredients.

3.      Put the jar, well lid, into the fridge for 1 week. After that week, the pickled eggs are ready to be served with ouzo!

Stin igia mas -cheers!

You might also like:

Garlic in olive oil

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Αργυρώ Ψαρουδάκη permalink
    April 27, 2011 8:49 am

    μμμμμμμμμμμ… δεν το συζητώ, το βράδυ θα καθαρίζω αυγά!!!!

Leave a comment