Skip to content

“Colourful” chickpeas. With curry. And pasturma.

February 20, 2013

chickpeas_curry 2

There are days that grey is the colour.

Deep blue or purple. Dark anyway.

There are times that I like that. It’s like as if I’m in a comfort zone, into a nest, peaceful into darkness. As if I’m in need of all these blues, all that silence, it makes me recharge my batteries.

There are also days that are colourful.

Light everywhere, the sun is shining, a rainbow. It’s like as if I’m full of energy, can’t stop moving and being in action until I collapse into all this madness. As if I like this frenetic movement that makes me carry away everything and everyone around me.

Darkness and light. Suck all the energy you can get from both, balance what is left in you at the end of the day, take a deep breath and smile.

P.S. I read this somewhere: “Smile. It makes others wonder what kind of pills you’re getting”. I’m often asked about it. The answer is that when I was a young girl, I threw myself into the magic potion. The one called “life”.

chickpeas_curry 1

chickpeas_curry 3

As you may already have seen, this one is a colourful recipe.

Adapted recipe by Athinagoras Kostakos, Vima Gourmet, September 2012

Ingredients:

  • 1 kg chickpeas (you have to put them the night before into a big bowl full of water. When the cooking time comes, strain them, rinse them out under running water and move on with the rest of the recipe)
  • 2 onions finely chopped
  • 1 garlic clove finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp curry
  • 100 gr pasturma or other spicy pork cooked meat, sausages, jamon, cut in small pieces.
  • juice of 3 lemons
  • 1/2 bunch of dill finely chopped
  • olive oil
  • salt, pepper

Directions

  1. Put a big pot on strong heat, put olive oil and brown chickpeas and pasturma (or anything else you’ll use) for 5′.
  2. Add the onions and garlic, mix well and pour water so as the chickpeas are covered. Put the lid on and lower heat. Let them boil until the chickpeas are soft and left with a nice thick sauce. If needed, add some more water while boiling.
  3. When the chickpeas are ready, add all the other ingredients -curry, dill, lemon juice, salt and pepper- and stir well. Turn the heat off and serve.

You might also like:

Ινδικά κεφτεδάκια από ρεθύθια/Indie chickpeas balls

casserole potatoes... indian style!

casserole potatoes… indian style!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2013 7:36 pm

    yes the balance of colours in life in many ways the most difficult feat! thanks for this sunny and colorful recipe to put a happy shine on things! i will now call you Rtemix of the magic potion! xox Crazy Karin

  2. March 8, 2013 11:17 pm

    Delicious! Saving it for later!

Leave a comment