Skip to content

East my love. The Lebanese chicken livers.

January 21, 2014

 chicken livers 1

East always attracted me…

It may not be strange to you, I live in a country where it lingers between the eastern and the western world, with the first part running through our veins due to history mostly.

But it’s not only that: maybe it’s because of my Asian Minor grandmother, my distant greek-egyptian relatives, our journeys to Istanbul and Israel at a “sensitive” age until 20?

Maybe none of them.

chicken livers 3

But there’s one thing for sure. I’m attracted to its people, its atmosphere, its colours, its smells, its music and of course, its food -what else? The spices, the intoxicating scents, the mastering and love of food is so intense to the eastern countries for me that whenever I come across to any eastern recipe I definitely want to try it! So, the time has come to try this one, stuck in my scrapbook for so long, the time for lebanese chicken livers.

Simple, quick and delicious.

chicken livers 2

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 kg chicken livers (washed well and cut in two if they are big)
  • 1 garlic clove smashed
  • 1/2 tsp cumin grated
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2-3 tbsp pomegranate syrup (or if it’s difficult for you to find, use pomegranate liqueur or fresh juice)
  • 5 tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. In a big frying pan put in the livers. Add as much water as they are just covered and switch on the heat at its maximum. When the water starts boiling, low the heat completely and let the livers boil slowly until there is almost no water left.
  2. Add all the other ingredients, mix well for 1-2′ and serve hot.
  3. Combine them with plain rice or couscous.
No comments yet

Leave a comment